h1

Day 6

10/07/2010

Today followed suit with our typical routine.  We got up early and walked to the orphanage.  It was wonderful spending time with Malachi today.  Unfortunately though, he has a pretty rough cough.  His nose was oozing lots, and Jasmina was concerned about his ears too–maybe and infection there.  They started giving him some medication today to try and get him all cleared up before we travel back to the U.S.  We are getting to know him a little more each day, and could tell today that he wasn’t feeling 100%.

 

View from the orphanage window

 

Tomorrow, Jasmina is attending a conference, and we won’t be able to visit Malachi.  It’s sad to not get to see him, but we’re hoping the day off will allow him to rest well and start feeling better.  We plan to do some shopping, and sight-seeing on our day off!

 

Yummy lunch!

 

 

AMAZING!

 

 

CHEESE--by the clump!

 

11 comments

  1. Ok really? That kid could not be any cuter!!!


  2. I have almost the same picture from the orphanage! The cheese is awesome!! Maybe if the weather is nice you could walk/taxi to the old fortress? And also see the Sava and Danube rivers come together. Have fun and I hope that Malachi feels better!!!


  3. Sasha was really sick the whole time we were there as well but after getting him out of there and getting him home, he hasn’t been sick since!!!

    I love Ajvar, Yum! My favorite thing to eat there, besides the eclairs, was some fresh bread with the Kajmak cheese spread and Ajvar… mmmm, my mouth is watering now.

    Have fun sight seeing tomorrow.
    Devon


    • Hi Devon,
      I remember reading a blog post about when Sasha wasn’t feeling well, and you let him rest. I remember that hitting me that you were choosing him (laying down you life) over your own wants/needs. That spoke to me. We had a wonderful time today!


  4. Hello!
    My name is Carolyn and I’m a friend of Hope Coulter’s in Montrose, CO. Hope and I have been friends for about a year now and she loves my littlest guy, Jacob, who has Down syndrome. She’s been telling me all about you guys and Malachi and finally sent me the link to your blog. I just wanted to say that what you are doing is so wonderful and everyone will say that Malachi is lucky to have you, but the truth is, YOU are blessed to have him. It is an amazing thing that you are doing and I know that Jesus is so pleased to see one of His precious ones rescued!
    I’ll be following your story with great interest and with many prayers.

    Blessings,
    Carolyn


  5. That is one cute kid, Nate and Megan!


  6. Hello! So excited to be following your journey. We are a Reeces Rainbow Family. We adopted Louinord from Haiti in 2009 (started in 2007).

    We are praying about a little baby boy named Johnny with Apert syndrome in Serbia. Have you seen him? Maybe what you observe could help us in our seeking. Please don’t feel like you have find out anything for us….I just thought I would ask if it was easy to share.

    Enjoy every moment of this life long adoption journey. It is amazing! Our God is there and very close to the orphan and there is no denying His presence.

    May the Lord be with you and fill you all good things from His hand. Praying for you!

    Tina Schlorf


    • Hi Tina,
      We will do all that we can to get info and photos, etc. Thank you for considering Johnny in the future of your family!


      • Tina, we met Johnny when we were there! He is a cutie! We will keep your family and Johnny in our prayers and hope you find the answers you are looking for.
        Devon


      • Thank you so much! It is fun following your journey…thank you for sharing it!

        Devon…thanks for telling us you saw Johnny. I have gone to your blog and read your story…amazing…I love adoption stories….


      • Opps! I meant to say thank you to you Megan up here : )



Leave a Reply

