h1

Day 13–Adoption Day

10/14/2010



Notice anything different?
That’s right, we’re officially parents!!
Today, October 14th, at 10:37am, Megan and I were pronounced the legal parents of Malachi Aleksandar Phillips.

We left Belgrade at 7:00am for our 3 hour drive to Nis.  We arrived at 8:45am.  That’s right, we hauled.  Dushin, Jasmina’s nephew is a for real driver:

When we arrived in Nis, we spent about an hour getting the official documents signed and ironed out with correct info, etc.  After that we went upstairs to complete the adoption ceremony.  It was informal, short, but serious and wonderful.  There were about 12 people present!  We stood and agreed to become Malachi’s official parents, taking full responsibility from that moment forward.  They presented Megan with a beautiful bouquet of flowers, kissed us (literally–3 times on the cheek!), and handed us the signed adoption decree.  Everyone was so kind and genuinely excited for us and Malachi’s new life.

 

Jasna(lawyer), Jasmina, Us, and social workers from Nis

 

 

 

Us with more social workers & the director of Social Care of Nis

 


After the ceremony, we did errands for about 3 hours.

  • Malachi has a new birth certificate with our names on it
  • His passport is being processed to be ready hopefully on Monday

Once this was completed, we went out for an incredible Serbian dinner to celebrate.  We are bummed, we left the camera in the car several blocks away, but this food was fantastic.  Cheese spread, bread, peppers, Ajvar, roasted lamb, chicken with Kamjak cheese & almonds, etc!  We had a wonderful time.

Tomorrow we will take Malachi out of the orphanage, and take him with us for good.

Last night in an orphanage crib, and last night sleeping without children!

22 comments

  1. Just want to keep letting you know we are celebrating for you back here – so thankful and happy for you! Blessings, Tom and Laurie


  2. So exciting! Thank you for sharing the news. Congrats to you and Malachi 🙂


  3. When I saw the first picture I let out a screem. Then another one for the second picture. By the time I got to the end I was doing some kind of strange dance behind my desk. I am beyond happy.
    And now I am crying yet again, I am overflowing with joy for you three and a half. Thank you Jesus!


  4. This moment reminds me of when I saw your first post of you with Malachi. I was so happy I laughed and cried at the same time,unable to stop, not wanting to, joyous beyond words.

    Yes, THANK YOU JESUS!


  5. YEAH! YEAH! (Arms held high in celebration!) So excited for you and for the future ahead. God is good!


  6. Congratulations and welcome to parenthood! You are beginning an incredible journey with Malachi. I loved the photos of the shoes and the toothbrushes. I think you are definitely ready to have Malachi living with you.

    God bless~
    Mike


  7. Congratulations!! What a beautiful post! Love the pictures!!


  8. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU JESUS!!! Wonderful news, so excited for the THREE of you and can’t wait to see you!!!


  9. WOOT WOOT WOOT!!!!!!!!!!!!! When you step on US soil, we will all shout AMEN!!!!!!!!!!! God is amazing, isn’t he? I’m so thrilled for you, and for Malachi! Just have a HUGE smile plastered on my face now! WOOT WOOT!


  10. PRAISE GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 My heart is overflowing with joy for you guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  11. Tears of joy! Congratulations Nate and Megan!


    • Congratulations!
      He is absolutely precious


  12. my children have been following your blog with me and they are sitting right here but I can’t bring myself to say anything to them because I would just burst out in tears, I am SOOOOO happy for you and your new family. God Bless You! Let me know when you are ready for company we can’t wait to see him!


  13. yahoo! We are so excited for you guys. Yeah! Thanks for letting us know about the blog and join in on the adventure. Too cool


  14. Praise Jesus!!!! Yippeee!!!

    Tina


  15. Oh My GOSH!! OH My GOSH!!! I can’t believe it!!! I am so excited and the tears just keep rolling down my face! Oh My Gosh you two are amazing! We are all so proud of you and so excited for your new life with that beautiful little boy! WOW I can’t wait for you to come home!! WOOTSKI!!!!


  16. Praising God for your new son and for the answer to so many, many prayers for this day. Congratulations. Love you both so much and I can’t wait to meet you rnewest addition!!!!!


  17. Whooo!!! Congratulations on the OFFICIAL beginning of a new and beautiful family. That little tooth brush, that little pair of shoes, and that little boy are EXACTLY where they’re suppose to be 🙂

    God is good, all the time!


  18. Praise the Lord! 🙂 I am thrilled with the support behind this adoption–the social workers, the staff, everyone..God is creating a huge family to support you! Love you all so much!


  19. Amazing! Congrats! He sure is one lucky little boy!


  20. I’m so excited for Malachi I’ve been following your Journey since last year when I fell in love with “Alec” in the Angel Tree and I’ve prayed for him and I’m just so happy that this year when I put his orniment on my tree he’ll be at his forever home with his own tree. God Bless you!


  21. YEAH!!!!!! Congradulations Mom & Dad 🙂
    What a wonderful gift from our wonderful heavenly father. We are sooooo excited for you all. Malachi could not have better parents. Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us, it has been such a blessing for us to watch and read! We will continue to lift you all up in prayer. Love and miss you guys and can hardly wait to see you all!



Leave a Reply

